Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Is it worth it? August 18, 2008

Filed under: Dear Diary... — Ms.M @ 1:10 pm

I’ve started to wonder about the usefulness of all the social networking platforms I’ve decided to belong to or connect with. I have a delicious account that I started on a whim, but that I now check pretty regularly, mostly because I like to see what other educators and tech geeks are bookmarking.  I’m on Facebook, just because, well, who isn’t? I have a linkedin profile which I’m not all too sure about, but I was invited, so what the heck. I use Twitter sparingly and with no followers (maybe that doesn’t count?), although I do follow other people, which may or may not make me a stalker(?). And just recently I created a Shelfari account, which allows me to share books…with no one but myself at this point.

I’m not sure that any of these platforms has brought me more social contacts, or if they have strenghthened the contacts I already had. I’m going to go with no, it hasn’t done either of those things. So what’s the point again? I think I have to put more thought into how I use these darn tools, or whether I need them at all. If anything they make me “feel” more connected, even if i’m not…which does say something about where we are heading as a society.

 

One Response to “Is it worth it?”

  1. Jen Says:

    Hmmm, I have to agree with you there…I’m on FB and I’ve reconnected with a few people, but only on the superficial “catching up” level. I haven’t made any new friends or hung out with anyone…my life is pretty much the same as it was before… and sadly, it’s a bit empty…or at least emptier than other peoples. Maybe I shouldn’t compare? But that’s what you do when you belong to these sites…stalk and compare.


Leave a Reply

