Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

The beast October 14, 2008

Filed under: Dear Diary... — Ms.M @ 11:09 pm

Something very scary came in the mail today. Something I’ve been dreading having to face for quite some time now because it was easier finding ways to avoid it. All those options have since come to an end. The college loan.  That ever growing beast of a debt has been dragging its large claws my way and I can no longer run.  Can’t go to school, because that would only make it angrier and meaner. Can’t do AmeriCorps again, because the government has already given me its portion. Besides the slight chance that after 5 years of teaching, if I teach in an urban district(which it seems is where I’m heading), I may get help of some sort, there is absolutely nothing else I can do but pay and pay and pay some more. Every time I send in a check, I’ll have to remind myself that it was worth it….It was worth it….It was….It has to be….It is. I can’t imagine what it would be like if I was paying for 6 years of private college sans scholarships, grants, gifts, working…I would be getting my tent ready and stashing up on peanut butter.

 

Leave a Reply

