Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

200 plus “friends” November 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ms.M @ 4:34 pm

I’m of the handful of close friends variety. I don’t understand people on facebook who have 200 plus friends. Seriously? How many of those people do you actually interact with on a regular basis? Not that I interact with ALL of my facebook friends, but I try to be as selective as possible. I have ignored people who tried to friend me, and I even blocked somebody once. Admittedly, I felt kind of bad about it. I think it has to do with the fact that people have different ideas about friending. Some people friend every single person they even bumped into once in high school. I don’t particularly agree with that. Some people friend people they just met, I don’t agree with that either.

Of course those who started their FB page while they were in college almost always have 200+ friends. There’s something about college campuses that makes the definitions of friendship sort of vague anyway. There are your very close friends, sort of close friends, friends from particular classes, friends only on the weekend, friends from clubs/activities, etc. It’s hard to draw the lines. There are also friends of friends, boyfriends and girlfriends, and you don’t want to seem rude to them.

Can you imagine trying to keep 200+ people straight in real life. Being really in touch with what they are doing, how they are doing, or actually being a part of their lives. Impossible!

I guess there is one other way to look at this though. Some people use facebook only as a way to keep up with people they normally don’t interact with on a regular basis. You wouldn’t need Facebook, after all, to keep up with your closest friends, there are phones, email, face-to-face time for those friendships. In that case Facebook is more to keep some sort of contact with anyone who agrees in return. They may never contact you outside of that original agreement. You may never know when they are looking at pictures of you, checking up on your wall, or otherwise snooping in on your life.

Anyway, it’s mutually agreed upon snooping at least. I try not to think about that.

 

Leave a Reply

