Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Label Free Living December 26, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ms.M @ 4:56 pm

I don’t know what to tell people when they ask me what I do. I don’t know what to label myself. In truth, I don’t know that I want labeling, but it does make things easier sometimes. It cuts off that awkwardness when people inevitably ask what you do for a living, how they should think about you now and into the future. I don’t know what to tell those people. It reminds me of the incessant questioning I used to get in middle school and high school about what I wanted to be when I grew up, or later on, what I was going to major in. How could I possibly know!; I haven’t gotten the opportunity to see what’s being offered, what’s out there for me to do. I still don’t know what all the possibilities are, and I’m well out of high school.

I wish we could eliminate that need to know what people do, as if we cared more about what they do (or make for a living) than who they are. I’m certain that’s a large part of what makes it so easy to put people into a certain bracket and forget about them all together.

 

Leave a Reply

