Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

I’m just like everyone…some of the time. December 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ms.M @ 1:18 pm

I’m like everyone else. I want easy answers. True, I like to tango with hypotheticals, and I sometimes can be caught daydreaming down the slippery slope of ideals, but I mostly wish some things could be easier to figure out, that “problem-solving” didn’t have to come with so many grey areas and tangles, dead ends and unknowns.  I’ve been known to settle for easy answers even if they aren’t answers at all. It’s just one of those things.

I’m not like everyone else. I want to play with “why’s,” if not all the time, then sometimes. I want to travel down that road of “maybe’s” and “some how’s” and even a few “what if’s” every once in a while. I don’t see the world as static; never have and never will.

But I am like everyone else. I want happy endings. Happy todays, happy tomorrows and happy ever afters far into the future. I can waste a day as quickly as the next person doing nothing more than thinking about what tomorrow will bring rather than what today has brought. Sometimes that’s a good thing, sometimes it’s not. It’s just hard to get past.

I’m not always like everyone else. I don’t know what to do with all this accumulating stuff and don’t see the point in getting more of it. I value some things that I can’t even see. Sometimes get confused about the taken for granted’s of the world, and wish some things/people weren’t even in that pile. It’s a mess.

But I’m just like everyone else. Sometimes I think in “me” terms. There are other people to take care of those things; I have to worry about myself and myself only. It’s not my problem, not my doing, not my worry.

Though more often I think in “we” terms. If anyone’s going to do anything it’s going to be us. It’s going to be “our” doing now and into the future.

 

Leave a Reply

