Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Learning for myself January 17, 2009

Filed under: Dear Diary...,Education — Ms.M @ 9:22 am

I signed up for two adult ed classes for the beginning of this year, neither of which are even remotely associated with advancing towards any career goals, which brings a huge sense of relief to my overly active brain cells. True spending money on classes which serve no other purpose than to get me out of the house and learning something new and interesting was at first a difficult mental wall for me to climb over, but at the same time I need it desperately, at least to remember when learning was fun, new and not remotely tied to any future endeavor.

I’m taking a pottery course. I haven’t touched a piece of clay since elementary school I think, and even that was probably just play doh. Actually, I haven’t taken any sort of art classes since freshman year of high school, which was almost 15 years ago (ahh!), and we didn’t do any clay work in that class. I don’t know why I didn’t take more art classes in high school, they were definitely available. I always felt like my classes were already picked out for me before I even got a chance to throw in my two cents. There are only so many electives you can take and for some reason art classes didn’t fit well into my schedule, though mainly due to stigma, but also due to scheduling. Regardless, I’m looking forward to it now.

It makes me wonder what sort of courses I would have taken in high school had I not been so concerned with college admissions and a future career.

 

4 Responses to “Learning for myself”

  1. GirlWednesday Says:

    Too funny…I was thinking about taking a pottery class…for almost the exact same reasons. I never took art in HS, probably b/c I was seen as “too smart” for that kind of stuff. *rolls eyes* Maybe someday!

  2. Ms.M Says:

    It’s just one of those things I’ve always wanted to try and pushed into the future. Actually learning the guitar instead of just knowing two or three chords is also on my list. I’ll let you know how it goes 😉

  3. A+ Says:

    How cool! I, too, have been taking classes just for the fun of taking them for the last few semester. A TON less pressure, and I love learning something new!

  4. GirlWednesday Says:

    Didn’t someone once say that all you need are three chords and the truth? LOL


Leave a Reply

