Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

“Education is the way up.” March 17, 2009

Filed under: Education,Quotes — Ms.M @ 7:56 am

“Education is the way up. The popular aim of education is to put everybody “on top.” Well, I think I hardly need to document the consequent pushing and trampling and kicking in the face.”

–Wendell Berry

 

5 Responses to ““Education is the way up.””

  1. brtom Says:

    Hi. Would you have a source for this (very apt) Berry quotation? Thanks.

  2. Ms.M Says:

    Sure brtom, it is from a collection of Berry’s essays called WHAT ARE People FOR? The particular essay I pulled it from is called “A Remarkable Man” Where that particular essay was previously originally published I honestly don’t know. Is that helpful?

  3. brtom Says:

    Thanks. Very helpful. I’ve read all this stuff at one time or another, but it gets all jumbled in my aging brain.

  4. Ms.M Says:

    Well then we’re on opposite sides of the spectrum. This is one of the few things I’ve read that Wendell Berry has written, though I’m looking forward to reading more. Glad to help.

  5. brtom Says:

    And, in this case and remembering my own first encounters with much of WB’s stuff, I really envy you being able to discover his richness for the first time. I hope it’s as big a treat for you as it was for me.


Leave a Reply

