Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

I’m here, and a year older…where’s my bonus? March 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ms.M @ 9:02 am

I’m not looking for any bonuses. I haven’t done anything that deserves a bonus, therefore I don’t expect to get one. I don’t understand bonuses all that much, or the bonus systems found in the business world. It’s like getting a pat on the back for being alive and choosing the business profession…Who would be stupid enough not to. I thought the point of bonuses was to create incentives for performance. Kind of like grades in a way, but with money…lots and lots of money. But when bonuses are handed out even if a company has performed poorly, where’s the incentive? Is it any wonder that students should feel entitled to good grades just for showing up? If daddy gets millions of dollars whether or not his company does anything substantial, why shouldn’t she. A bonus grade just for showing up is just as justified as daddy’s undeserved million.

I can’t say that I understand it, but the differences are negligible.

If CEO’s don’t see anything wrong with putting bailouts in their pockets just because their contract says so, than I think we’re going to have a hard time convincing anyone that rewards are not just a given.

 

4 Responses to “I’m here, and a year older…where’s my bonus?”

  1. Ms.M Says:

    Well thanks! That is a bonus of sorts….what are your thoughts on this whole AIG bailout situation?

  2. Hey, you said “I’m…a year older.” LOL Quite fitting for your big day, eh? 😉

    My thoughts–they’ll be brief/choppy since I’m at work and should be doing something besides, uh, THINKING on my own (lol).

    1. I’m NOT happy with Dodd. I can’t believe he out and out lied like that, and then hours later, retracted himself. And I think something shady’s going on w/ him and Geithner…both are pointing fingers at the other. I know, I shouldn’t be surprised, politics are a dirty business, but jeez, you’d think Dodd would have learned his lesson in TRUTHINESS (ha!) after the Countrywide blowup. He’s not going to win in 2010.

    2. As for the 90% tax thing…I’m a bit scared. At first I was like, “YEAH GET THE MONEY BAAAACK, those m’er effers need to PAY!”

    But then…last night on the way home from work, I was listening to NPR and some senator said something that struck me as true. Later, I was watching Larry King and he had Mitt Rommney on, who gave a similar viewpoint. Which was this…(paraphrasing here) “if the govt can take that money back/levee taxes on them because they don’t like what they are doing, who’s to say that they won’t/couldn’t find another group to all of a sudden dislike and want to tax?”

    It’s creating an interesting precedent over who we can tax now. Granted, this is a different situation because govt money is involved, but who is to say that this wouldn’t become a slippery slope. Maybe the govt would start telling people how to spend their money? (A long shot, I know)

    3. I agree that something had to be done to help these companies…because they would have dragged the rest of the country down with them. Especially AIG b/c they were entangled in SO many sectors of the market. But the method of the help should have been different. I don’t know what, though.

    4. This situation is so…screwed up…I don’t know what else to say about it. I only hope that we can start getting out of this mess.

  3. Ms.M Says:

    I just don’t understand the system itself. I understand being recognized for your work and the results of your effort; because if done right EVERYONE would benefit from that including all the many workers who get to keep their jobs (a bonus) because the company is doing well. What I don’t understand is being recognized regardless of work or results or regardless of all the many others who get to loss their jobs while you eat, drink, and be merry. The fact that they got bailout money makes it more of an issue because it makes people more aware of how at risk the company was and how absurd these bonuses are. There’s no reason to consider the company, or the jobs of workers, when you’re going to get a bonus regardless.

    To be honest I don’t know enough about the Dodd situation or this new 90% tax to air an opinion. But I agree the situation is screwed up.


Leave a Reply

