Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Online notice board May 3, 2009

Filed under: Education — Ms.M @ 7:55 pm

On Langwitches, a great blog I’ve been following for educational technology resources, I came across a great online tool called wallwisher being used as a sort of bulletin board to share ideas, in this case about learning communities.  I like following this blog in particular because of the large variety of links that are regularly posted, and also to see the way these sorts of recourses are used, sometimes in ways that their designers probably never imagined. Sometimes in ways that I never would have imagined. If I just ran into wallwisher on my own, I’m not sure that I would have thought to use it this way.

I like the idea of this sort of wall where groups of teachers, or students, can brainstorm thoughts about a question or topic and I can think of countless ways it can be utilized especially in the language arts classroom.  I can definitely see it as a prep. space for discussion if students could access it a few days before to get their ideas down in one space. It’s great because they can access the wall at different times and from different places and add to what others have said or add something completely different.

Of course they could do this with a blog as well, but I do like that this is a simpler way to get many voices together in one place and then either keep it or tear it down and start again. You can even rearrange and cluster certain ideas that go together or compare and contrast two things. I definitely like the possibilities.

 

Leave a Reply

