Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Top posts May 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ms.M @ 7:52 pm

It’s Mother’s Day today. I brought my mom out for an early morning breakfast. I think I surpassed my wonderful quotient for the month, or the week, or maybe just the day(?). The rest of the day was packed with family goodness. So instead of actually writing anything new, I’ve decided to do a bit of a recap of most-viewed posts of the year.  To be honest, I’m still surprised when people actually read this blog, or quite possibly just randomly end up here. It makes me sort of wonder why these particular posts, or days, got a good chunk of that love.  Almost all of them are about education, and most are written in reference to a book, well known person or t.v. show, so I’m sure that was part of the draw…ok, that’s most of the draw, if I’m going to be honest.

Top Posts

Alfie Kohn speaks on Achievement vs. Learning I was lucky enough to see Alfie speak. I guess other people have heard of him too…and like to google his name. Sometimes my blog shows up.

School/Unschool One of the few times I commented, shared my thoughts, on a TV show episode I had seen…also the first time I was mentioned in another blog…I commented there. I suddenly felt like a true blogger.

Voices of the People This was a random post, I had found some youtube videos of TV personalities reading different speeches from Howard Zinn’s book Voices of the People’s History of the U.S. I added a few thoughts. The fact that I again quoted the book’s title is in no way me trying to get many more views. Just maybe one more.

Autonomy, complexity…fulfillment This post was a reflection after reading Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers. I guess other people have since also read the book. He’s popular…I can say that with certainty now.

How Children Learn/Fail This one I think is mainly a fluke. I think people are searching for something along the lines of children learning…and they get this instead, which is me discovering John Holt’s books. Probably not what they’re looking for, I apologize. If you’re looking for the secret formula for how children learn, or how children fail, this is not where you’ll find it. But Holt’s books are a good read.

“Education is the way up.” This one suprised me because it brought on a pretty solid back and forth, and it’s only a very short Wendell Berry quote I just happened to like enough to write down. I learned about a new resource, which is always fun.

 

Leave a Reply

