Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

Fact meets Fiction June 1, 2009

Filed under: Books,Education,Video — Ms.M @ 7:39 am

A work of fiction that I have recently read, Little Bee by Chris Cleave, has as its back story the conflicts in Nigeria over oil, although no particular oil companies are mentioned in this particular book. It is the story of a young teenage girl who calls herself Little Bee and whose village is attacked by soldiers. Although she is able to escape, and become a refugee in London, her two years spent in a British detention center, and the horrific reminders of her past seem to follow her wherever she goes. These memories also follow the two British journalists (who naively enough were in Nigeria on holiday ) that she had once encountered on the Nigerian beaches of her homeland and now are her only hope for a future. It’s a tragic story which ends with at least some sense of hope for both Little Bee and her new family. There is, of course, a little more to it than that, but that is the main story line.

The book, although it is a work of fiction, is very much based on a reality that still exists, which seems to be where many of the best works of fiction come from. Clay Burrell of change.org recently posted a video about the Case against Shell, that reminded me of this, and I’ll share it here as well. It is reality meeting fiction and I recommend the book as well as the following video, which together may give some sense of the violence and injustice taking place which is inevitably tied to every one of us.

 

2 Responses to “Fact meets Fiction”

  1. You read it? Fabulous! What did you think?

    Btw, author is on Twitter. @chriscleave

  2. Ms.M Says:

    I did read it and even though I can’t say it’s the best book I’ve ever read, I really did like it. I almost can’t say that I enjoyed it without feeling a bit awkward, only because it was very tragic and depressing through most of it, but there was something about Little Bee that did draw me in. He did a really good job with her character. I don’t know if he did this on purpose, but I felt like I could relate to Little Bee more than any other character in the book.


Leave a Reply

