Learning Stuff…

LEARNING STUFF…everyday and all the time: learning, teaching, living

On the road again… July 13, 2009

Filed under: Dear Diary... — Ms.M @ 7:26 pm

The problem with getting a year off from teaching is that you’ve forgotten basically everything you were planning to do as soon as you got back into it.  The positive of getting a year off from teaching is that you realize that you’ve forgotten basically everything you were planning to do as soon as you got back into it.

A fresh start! That’s not always such a bad thing. But, is it odd that I should be a new teacher who is entering her first real classroom (at least my own) with the feeling that she’s going back while simultaneously going forward, or is it always like that? Back as in back to old friends, back to days filled with books and kids and kids and books. But also forward, as in there’s no knowing what’s around this next bend, with this new group, in this new school. And who knows what the future holds.

I’m left with Willie Nelson’s “On the road again” lyrics on the brain…

“On the road again
Just can’t wait to get on the road again
The life I love is makin’ music with my friends
And I can’t wait to get on the road again
On the road again
Goin’ places that I’ve never been
Seein’ things that I may never see again,
And I can’t wait to get on the road again.”

I am. I’m on the road again.

 

Leave a Reply

